PDA

View Full Version : Letter to Don Felder from fan

AlMora
03-13-2009, 03:34 PM
Eagles friends, I posted a video of my Hotel California cover at youtube.com/ajmora. Enjoy!

Here's a long letter I wrote to Don - I have not yet mailed it as I don't have his address. Perhaps he'll read it here. I'll mail it to his management or publisher or someone at some point!

Here it is - it's very long...

Crown Point, Indiana
March 13, 2009

Dear Don Felder,

I’m a Don Felder fan, and this is just a fan letter about your book, your music, and life in general.

I am an extremely-blessed person. I’m 50 years old with a great wife, five great kids, and two grandchildren. I’m an MBA with a busy corporate career. And I’m a guitarist.

As for your book, Heaven and Hell, congratulations! I’ve probably read a thousand books (now that I stopped to think about it), and have read many books about music. H&H is one of my favorite books about music or any topic.

In addition to being a book about a band and the music industry, it’s a very personal real-life adventure. It’s a fascinating journey from your modest childhood to talented young guitarist to music teacher to musical journeyman to studio stud to rock star to (successful!) litigant to author. It’s an intimate look at the extremely talented, successful, and tortuous Eagles; the long, hard dues unknown and famous musicians pay; the inspiration, work, and pain that goes into a song from songwriting and song selection to arranging, rehearsing, recording, mixing, to playing the song to live audiences around the world. That’s a long process! You give a colorful picture of life on the road. You show the friendship and conflict that can occur among bandmates. You show the price paid by so many others directly or indirectly related to the band. You show how some women (mis)behave toward musicians.

What a ride! The book is more than worthy of the Eagles and you. You’ve done a Fantastic job!