PDA

View Full Version : Glenn's Use of the Sax

sodascouts
08-29-2009, 04:08 PM
In another thread, PM brought up something interesting:

This is my first time seeing most of [Glenn's] videos. One thing particularly struck me about the songs themselves. [...] I noticed in at least ten of the songs there is a saxophone, and in several of the videos there is a showcase of the sax player. I love the fact that most of Glenn's songs have a sax in them. (No More Cloudy Days also comes to mind, although there's no video for it.) Obviously Glenn loves the sax too. Has he ever talked about that - the fact that he uses the sax in a lot of his songs?

sodascouts
08-29-2009, 05:57 PM
So, it's a lazy day. I did a search for the word "sax" on GFO (http://search.freefind.com/find.html?oq=horns&id=26480266&pageid=r&_charset_=UTF-8&bcd=%C3%B7&scs=1&query=sax&Find=Search&mode=ALL&search=all) and here are the songs listed as having a sax player - All but three of these have sax solos. In the others, the sax is still very prominent.

The One You Love (Saxophone: Ernie Watts, Jim Horn)

I Found Somebody (Tenor Sax: Al Garth)

I've Been Born Again (Saxophones: Bill Bergman, Jim Colie Baritone: Gregg Smith)
Trivia: Ex-wife Janie urged him to record this song while they were still dating LOL

Sea Cruise (Saxophones: Harvey Thompson, Ronnie Eades)

Somebody Else (Sax: Al Garth)

Let's Go Home (Sax: Al Garth)

Living in Darkness (Sax: Bill Bergman)

The Heat Is On (oddly, no sax player credited)

You Belong to the City (Sax: Bill Bergman)

Livin' Right (Saxophone Solo: Bill Bergman)

Some Kind of Blue (Saxophone: Al Garth)

True Love (Saxophone: Chris Mostert)

It's Your Life (Saxophone: Chris Mostert)

Love In The 21st Century (Baritone Sax: Greg Smith, Tenor Sax: Bill Bergman)

River of Dreams (Sax solo: Al Garth)

I've Got Mine (Sax Solo: Chris Mostert)

This Way to Happiness (Saxophone Solo: Chris Mostert)

Who's Been Sleepin' in My Bed (Saxophone Solo: Chris Mostert)