PDA

View Full Version : Today in Randy History

Delilah
09-18-2017, 12:30 PM
I didn't know where else to put this so I started a new topic.

Today in 1982, "Never Been in Love" hit #28 on the Billboard Hot 100. It would peak here and remain on the charts for 11 weeks. The songwriter, Craig Bickhardt, also wrote a Christmas song, "When Heaven's Calling You" on which Vince Gill sings lead. Small world!

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=f5KI6gDNk2Q&app=m&persist_app=1

Dawn
09-18-2017, 01:06 PM
Great thread idea ...

This is my first time hearing this recording and Randy sounds great! And yes, that's interesting about Vince. I'm going to have to check out that particular song as well.

Thanks Delilah.

NightMistBlue
09-18-2017, 01:41 PM
The title of this thread makes me smile. Good work as always, Delilah!

Delilah
09-18-2017, 02:22 PM
Thanks, ya'll. I loved this song back in the day. :heart: The only thing I knew about Randy Meisner was that he'd been in the Eagles. I had no idea what he played or sang in the band or what he looked like. :-)

East Texas Girl
09-18-2017, 04:38 PM
Absolutely love this song!!

NightMistBlue
09-18-2017, 05:03 PM
To my ears, the intro to this song sounds very similar to REO Speedwagon's "Keep On Loving You," which was a massive hit the year before. I don't know if that helped or hurt Randy's cause. The record company doesn't seem to have been very supportive if they wouldn't even give him money to tour (behind a top 40 song! What were they thinking?!).