Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Question on "Lyin' Eyes"

Border Rebel

Question Question on "Lyin' Eyes"

Hi there!

I'm a newbie here, although I've been lurking for a bit, and I've been an Eagles fan for a LONG time! It's great to come here and see so many fans devoted to my favorite boys.

This afternoon I've been getting some cleaning done and listening to the Farewell I DVD. Whenever I hear "Lyin' Eyes", it reminds me of a comment I heard (or read) Don Henley say. It was something to the effect that Lyin' Eyes was Glenn's baby, and he thinks that he (Don) wrote one verse of it, and Glenn wrote the other two verses and the chorus.

This always makes me wonder what verse he wrote. I have my idea, although there is one line in there that sounds very Glenn to me. LOL.

So, I thought I'd open it up to the experts and see if anyone else has an opinion.

Which verse do you think Don wrote - 1, 2, or 3?

Stuck on the Border Tiffanny Twisted's Avatar

Default Re: Question on "Lyin' Eyes"

Hi,
    I'm tiffany twisted. welcome to the border. I will defer to soda on the answer to your question. I just wanted to say greetings and enjoy your time here on the border.

tt

Welcome, Mary! I don't recall hearing an interview like the one you mentioned. It surprises me to think of them writing it like that, but who knows!

Always in our hearts, Never forgotten

Welcome MC! That is the book I would like them to write. I want to know about each song and how and why it was written (similar to what Lennon and McCartney did seperately).
    ~ Cathy ~

And I dream I'm on vacation 'Cause I like the way that sounds,
    It's a perfect occupation for me.

Stuck on the Border

Don is quoted in the Complete Greatest Hits thus:

'Glenn's pretty much responsible for that track & for the title, the choruses. I helped out with the verses & perhaps with the melody. It's really Glenn's baby'.