PDA

View Full Version : Ticket Prices

VAisForEagleLovers
05-07-2013, 08:07 AM
Over in the Eagles Tour 2013 discussion thread, we started talking about ticket prices for other bands, and I thought maybe I should have started it here! For reference, I'll put the link to the article about slow sales for the Rolling Stones.

http://ultimateclassicrock.com/rolling-stones-slow-ticket-sales/

Prettymaid
05-07-2013, 08:25 AM
And if we want to talk about Eagles ticket prices there is a thread already started here.

https://www.eaglesonlinecentral.com/forum/showthread.php?t=2229

VAisForEagleLovers
05-07-2013, 08:30 AM
I am by no means an expert, but I do read a lot of articles and I try to stick to reputable sources. That said, nearly everyone who publishes an article has an agenda they are trying to promote and facts can skewed with a touch of opinion to get the reader to think the way they want.

Over the last ten years or so, I've seen many articles that have warned about ticket prices going up, and for several different reasons. Between that and some logic of my own, here's my list.

1. Torrent sites, file sharing sites, generally copying music for a friend. Even highly popular artists don't sell even a fraction of the amount of records sold twenty years ago. Too many people have access to free music, so why pay for it? Artists need to pick up the slack somewhere and touring is it.

2. Electronic downloads. People can easily download the song or songs they want instead of buying an entire album. While this was true of singles in the past (45's), playing a bunch of 45's on a record player took a lot of work (mine would only stack LPs) and certainly not like making a playlist now. So, selling two songs of an album instead of the whole album means a lot less money, even without considering #1.