PDA

View Full Version : 70s Live Shows

SilverAcidRayne
04-28-2015, 06:26 PM
Ok. Since i'm still learning about the band and everything, as far as their older live shows from the 70s are concerned what do you guys recommend? i was going through youtube and i saw some and loved them :)

thelastresort
04-28-2015, 07:14 PM
Not much to choose from!

The only ones I can think of are:
Holland 1973
London (BBC) 1973
DKRC 1974 (featuring Linda Ronstdat and Jackson Browne)
Seattle 1975 (bootleg)
Houston 1976 (bootleg)
Washington 1977 (only eight songs exist)

Film and performance quality-wise Washington is best but I'm very fond of the DKRC performance, the setlist is excellent and it's probably the best you'll find of pre-Walsh Eagles.

WalshFan88
04-28-2015, 07:16 PM
I prefer HC era and forward so:

Houston '76
Washington '77
Seattle '76

SilverAcidRayne
04-28-2015, 08:29 PM
awesome :):)

GlennLover
04-28-2015, 09:32 PM
I'm partial to London '73, but I like them all! :thumbsup:

SilverAcidRayne
04-28-2015, 11:03 PM
I'm partial to London '73, but I like them all! :thumbsup:

'73? oh wow lol yeah i'm currently watching '74. Don Kirshner. I so forgot about him :)

Jonny Come Lately
04-29-2015, 04:03 AM
The list tlr gave is a pretty good summary of the various concerts you can see live, I think I can add to this by giving a list of what I consider to be some of the best performances:

Holland 1973 - Has an excellent, largely acoustic of Take It Easy. Also has the original version of How Long (the arrangement is very similar to that on LROOE, but with Randy singing the third verse rather than Glenn).
London (BBC) 1973 - Fantastic Witchy Woman, the riff cuts right through, also has an extended version of Earlybird.